LG Election: Oyo PDP Settles To Adopt Consensus Approach To Produce Party Candidates

By Henry Odeh





Following the intrigues that played out in the Oyo state chapter of Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in less than 24 hours to its primaries to produce chairmanship and councillorship candidates initially slated for Thursday 4th March, the ruling party now appeared to have settled for adoption of consensus candidates across the 33 local government areas.

Oyo state PDP in a statement signed by its state chairman, Alhaji Kunmi Mustapha and State Publicity Secretary, Engr Akeem Olatunji, and made available to newsmen, the party said that it has constituted a committee that will interface with all aspirants across the 33 local government.

The statement reads: “As directed by the overall Leader of PDP in Oyo State and Southwest Nigeria, Governor Seyi Makinde, the leadership of PDP in Oyo State has announced the composition of a five man Committee to interface with aspirants and leadership of the party across the 33 local government in the State.

1. Hon Taiwo Alagbe (State Organizing Secretary)- Chairman
2. Hon Mufu Ogunremi (State Vice Chairman)- Member
3. Pastor Biodun Popoola (State Assistant Organizing Secretary)- Secretary
4. Alhaja Labake Olayiwola (State Auditor)- Member
5. Engr Akeem Olatunji (State PRO)- Member

“The Committee will begin sitting on 05/03/2021 from 10am to interface with all the Chairmanship aspirants from Ibadan, Oyo and Ibarapa zones while Okeogun and Ogbomoso zones takes place on Saturday 06/03/2021 for the purpose of building consensus and brotherliness among the aspirants as the party pick her candidates in a transparent and democratic manner.”

Facebook Comments


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Next Post

FG Sends Relief Materials To Victims Of Shaha Mayhem, Flags off Rural Women Cash Grant in Oyo

Fri Mar 5 , 2021
By Henry Odeh     The Federal government has delivered food items to 928 households and 5, 568 displaced persons in the Sabo, Ojoo and Akinyele areas of Oyo state. The Minister of Humanitarian Affairs, Disaster Management and Social Development Sadiya Umar Farouq made this known during a visit on […]